British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Sweetheart, Veteran and other Lapel Badges.

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 18-09-11, 04:45 PM

Post Re: Veteran and National Reserve Lapel Badges.

1911 Veteran and National Reserve Lapel Badges.

Over the years I like most collectors have seen both veteran and national reserve badges to all UK counties, at all sorts of places from flea markets, to militaria and medal fairs and now even the internet, but has anyone really taken time to wonder about this organisation.
I’ve been collecting these badges since the early 1980’s when you could pick up a nice badge for anything from £5 to £10, even the rarer one’s were not too expensive, now these days when you seen them, they cost much more.

Some counties for example issued both veteran and national, Kent being a very well know example, but there are other counties like Oxfordshire, Northamptonshire and Isle of Wight which are good examples. Cities like London also issued badges in class I and II and these are quite well know. In fact they even had their own military band in London. As far as I am aware each county association issued at least a national reserve badge. Even New Zealand had their own national reserve system and badges as well.

I have added a few examples of the London class I and Class II
Attached Images
File Type: jpg National Reserve Class II Battersea F.jpg (62.6 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg National Reserve Class II Battersea B.jpg (40.4 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg National Reserve Class I(F).jpg (10.0 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg National Reserve Class I (R).jpg (8.6 KB, 12 views)
Old 18-09-11, 07:27 PM