British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Royal Flying Corps and Royal Air Force

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 11-08-16, 09:07 PM

Default Ludlow Pathfinder Wing with the ORIGINAL Pin Assembly

I am relatively new to RAF and Commonwealth wings, but I am very experienced in US military aviation insignia, especially wings, including those that are boys picked up in the UK as they passed through to North Africa, Italy or joined the 8th and 9th Air Force in pounding the Nazis. Ludlow is a wing maker that rarely shows up in US Army Air Force insignia so I have studied it relentlessly and I am familiar with the actual design of the standard pin assembly that they use on wings.

I have encountered a 3 Pathfinder badges which have the Ludlow London maker's mark since beginning collecting and perusing both US Army Air Force and RAF material. Each of those Pathfinder badges had replacement pins on them and 2 of them had been smeared with a great deal of solder/braze to attach the pin which muddied up the rear.

I recently got in touch with an individual who had amassed quite a collection of beautiful Pathfinder badge examples over the years and was about to purchase the one he had which was a Ludlow with the smearing all over the back when he had 2nd thoughts and allowed me to see his perfect Ludlow London Pathfinder badge with all the original pin assembly parts undamaged!