British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Photographs of British Servicemen and Women Wearing Insignia

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 03-06-08, 10:08 AM

Default Any Info Please

Anything you can tell me about this photo would be appreciated.
We think the chap on the far right is our ancestor.
I know it's not the best imagery, but anything at all about the sleeve markings, approximate date etc would be helpful. (Remember, I'm a complete novice about these things)
Many thanks
Sandie
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image207 - Copy.jpg (40.8 KB, 78 views)
Old 03-06-08, 03:26 PM

Not much Cap Badge Identification to be had on the strength of the poor image quality. However;
Due to the apparent age of these men I'd say this was a pic of a QM's store staff. The middle man is an officer, due to his age and familiarity with the other ranks is probably an ex Ranker therefore a Quartermaster.

The chap far left with a single stripe on upper arm is a Lance Corporal with 3 Good Conduct stripes on his lower left arm. above this is an unclear trade badge, usually a letter within laurel leaves. The complete lack of medal ribbons above his left breast pocket is intriguing but may date the pic to about 1926. The remaining soldiers all have ribbons from WW1.

The Sergeant (3 stripes) next to him served post December 1915 as he has no star ribbon.

The other sergeant is a marksman as depicted by the crossed rifles on lower left sleeve. If he was an instructor they would be above his chevrons on the right sleeve.
Old 03-06-08, 04:38 PM
Super Moderator