British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Photographs of British Servicemen and Women Wearing Insignia

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 26-03-15, 02:35 PM

Default Gunner Uniform Date and Style

I am attempting to date the attached photo, a Sgt Rough Rider, probably RFA from his arm badges.

His jacket appears to be the ORs frock introduced for the RFA and RGA in 1878but it lacks shoulder straps and cuff ornamentation. Collar grenades were introduced in 1880 suggesting a date before that.

I am not an expert on RA uniforms of this period. Can any informed members help out please?

Jon
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Unknown Group.jpg (54.5 KB, 72 views)
Old 26-03-15, 02:43 PM

Going by the general appearance I would date it to 1879-1880 the same as you Jon. I will try and research further what is clearly a 5-button working frock and report back later on.
Old 26-03-15, 02:49 PM

I would say he is a Cavalry man.

Rough Riding Instructor Sgt. with an NCO's regimental badge above, possibly PoW feathers. I dont think its a crown.

regards

Manchester Regiment Collector
Rank, Prize & Trade Badges
British & Commonwealth Artillery Badges
Old 26-03-15, 03:36 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by manchesters View Post
I would say he is a Cavalry man.

Rough Riding Instructor Sgt. with an NCO's regimental badge above, possibly PoW feathers. I dont think its a crown.

regards
Well spotted, even on just my phone I can see a badge above the spur now that you have drawn it to my attention. I can't see well enough to comment if it is PoW feathers, but I think you might well be right that he is a cavalryman.
Old 26-03-15, 04:48 PM