British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > General Topics.

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 10-06-20, 09:23 AM

Default Boer War

Can anyone identify the cap badge on the attached photograph? I believe the uniform is Boer War but I am very new to this! Trying to work out an ancestors history. Hope you can help1908173.jpg
Old 10-06-20, 11:54 AM
Super Moderator

Hello Josie, welcome to the Forum. Your account is active and open for posts.
Old 10-06-20, 12:07 PM

Possibly The Devonshire Regiment although it could be that of another unit, eg Army Service Corps / Royal Army Service Corps.
Old 10-06-20, 12:17 PM
Super Moderator

Devonshire regiment and that matches the badge, cap colour and curved shoulder title. He is wearing the 4 long service chevrons so he had some time in. I think the medal is the QSA for the Boer War and it has the look of a post war photo: possibly in India judging by the uniform.
Old 10-06-20, 12:27 PM

The photograph is that of a Regular soldier in the Devonshire Regiment with 3 good conduct chevrons so has been serving for at least 12 years service.

He is wearing a Khaki Drill uniform, which as Al;an says is worn overseas.

I cant make out the details of the medal ribbon, if it was a QSA I would expect the Kings South Africa Medal (KSA) ribbon too for a Regular soldier.

Could be an Indian General service Medal IGS).

I would date the photo to c. 1910.

regards

Manchester Regiment Collector
Rank, Prize & Trade Badges
British & Commonwealth Artillery Badges
Old 10-06-20, 12:39 PM
Super Moderator