British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum  

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > Everything Else > Off topic > Forum Operation

 Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-19, 02:28 PM
jeep's Avatar
jeep jeep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Preston, Lancs
Posts: 415
Default Cannot Connect To Web Site/Forum

I have just bought a new lap top and I am in the (laborious) process of creating/installing everything. I tried and failed to connect to the forum, to create a desktop shortcut (using MS Win 10 by the way). Google finds the forum, but when trying to connect I get the message:
'Cannot securely connect to this page. This might be because the site uses outdated or unsafe TLS security settings. If this keeps happening, try contacting the website's owner.'
Any suggestions.
__________________
Kind Regards - John
(Arte et Marte)
http://www.arborfieldoldboys.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-19, 06:59 PM
Mike's Avatar
Mike Mike is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North of Hadrian's Wall
Posts: 2,154
Default

Nort sure what the problem is. We have a valid SSL certificate. I renew it ever 3 months. not sure what the precise TLS type it is.

Here's some info for that issue with the edge browser:

http://www.surfacetablethelp.com/201...ge-brower.html

you need if find those checkboxes to accept all the versions of TLS.

In the pop-up dialog box, go to the Advanced tab, under the Security heading, locate the “Use SSL 3.0” and check its box.
* Add the checkmark with Use TLS 1.0, Use TLS 1.1, and Use TLS 1.2 boxes. Then click Apply > OK button.
__________________
My insignia database contributions
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-19, 07:01 PM
Mike's Avatar
Mike Mike is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North of Hadrian's Wall
Posts: 2,154
Default

Perhaps before that the first thing to do is try and get any updates that may due for widows on your new machine?
__________________
My insignia database contributions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-09-19, 03:04 PM
jeep's Avatar
jeep jeep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Preston, Lancs
Posts: 415
Default

Mike. All fixed. Machine was up to date, but internet security was set too high.
The fix is: Go to 'Internet Options' select 'Security' change security level to 'Medium' (mine was 'Medium-high'. Thanks for your help.
__________________
Kind Regards - John
(Arte et Marte)
http://www.arborfieldoldboys.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.