British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > Common Forums > Reproductions, Restrikes, Fakes, Forgeries, and Copies

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 26-10-18, 09:52 AM

Default Victorian Kings Royal Rifle and Rifle Brigade Cap badge help

Hi I have 2 cap badges one is a 60th foot Kings Rifle cap badge the other is a pre 1903 cap badge for the Rifle Brigade.

I think the Rifle Brigade badge is an example rather than an original but I'm not 100% and completely not sure about the Kings Rifles badge.

So I was hoping someone would be able to help and also help me to identify the real ones from the fake, as I'm very new to collecting military badges. Thank you so much for your help.

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

Old 26-10-18, 07:18 PM

Both appear to be completely spurious, brand new and certainly lack the detail, actual material and manufacturing of original badges, get a refund.
Old 26-10-18, 07:30 PM

Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kelley View Post
Both appear to be completely spurious, brand new and certainly lack the detail, actual material and manufacturing of original badges, get a refund.
I agree with Frank, get a refund . . !

Rob
Old 26-10-18, 07:33 PM

I think they’re both real but someone has painted them with thick gloss paint which as Frank says has obscured the detail and is why the blacking is chipped on the back of the KRRC (chemical blacking doesn’t chip). Both badges have had their loops replaced IMO... which probably explains why they’ve been painted.