British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > Common Forums > Reproductions, Restrikes, Fakes, Forgeries, and Copies

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 30-10-09, 09:56 AM

Default Please help a complete novice

My primary interest is not in badge collecting so I have barely come to grips with originals and restrikes, let alone fakes, and reading these pages has, frankly, put the wind up me. Living in rural New South Wales I have limited opportunity to see and touch and feel, and I have to rely on descriptions on the dreaded eBay. I am trying to put together the equipment/uniforms of North Somerset Yeomanry or Somerset Light Infantry - Boer and WWI.

I found these on eBay:
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....=STRK:MEWAX:IT

and

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI....=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Are they any good/worth it. And, what I am I really looking for? Any advice to a complete novice when it comes to badges would be welcome.

I notice people seem to be very coy on these pages about naming names - but providing just links (which often seem to be dead when us latecomers come across them) won't protect in the event of defamation - but in for a penny.

Cheers,

Mike
Old 30-10-09, 11:37 AM
Administrator

When searching ebay for original items you can modify the search criteria to add or remove certain sellers from the result.

The above vendor is one of those I remove.
Old 30-10-09, 11:41 AM
Administrator

welcome to the forum by the way !
Old 30-10-09, 11:43 AM

Hello Birdlip
Check the earlier threads!
Dave
Old 30-10-09, 11:59 AM
Administrator