British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Infantry (& Guards) Badges

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 16-08-09, 08:37 PM

Default Cameron Highlanders badge

I picked up a Cameron Highlanders badge at a flea market recently. See the attached pictures. I am new to British badges, have started collecting a few Scottish badges, but am mainly into US & British military uniform buttons. From what I have found on the internet, it appears to be of the pre-1881 style, it does not have "CAMERON" on a ribbon on the front, nor does it look like the Sporran badge type. Was hoping to get more information on this badge. Could anyone help me identify the badge, particularly, is it original? How can I tell?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img165.jpg (71.5 KB, 134 views)
File Type: jpg img166.jpg (84.6 KB, 132 views)
Old 17-08-09, 01:50 AM

David
Good find. Well toned lugs (black) on the reverse with gold braze.

Whilst I'm definately no expert I'll stick my neck out and say it looks like a 79th (Queen's Own Cameron Highlanders) OR's glengarry to me. Possibly late 19th century (1872 - 1897).

I would certainly have it in my collection.

My opinion only.

Mark
Old 17-08-09, 04:38 AM

David, I think Mark is right,and I found this website some time ago I have included the link so you can judge by yourself. First badge, top left.
Jo
http://www.geocities.com/scotlandswarriors/camsea.htm

“There are things we know that we know,” “There are known unknowns. That is to say there are things that we now know we don't know. But there are also unknown unknowns. There are things we do not know we don't know.”