British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > General Topics.

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 16-02-13, 01:44 PM

Question WW1 cap badge questions

Hi all, and greetings from Norway!

I stumbled upon this forum during a internet search, and impressed by the knowledge and helpfulness of the members, thought I might try my luck;
I am a total noob with regards to cap badges, so please forgive my ignorance

I have one or two questions regarding WW1 and British cap badges.

1) I want to try and collect the various regimental cap badges used by British regiments in the European theatre of war 1914-1918. Not all the variations, just a good representative badge from each)

Is that even possible? (and how much of a monetary investment would that be?)

2) Is there any way to tell if a given badge was issued prior to or during ww1,
as opposed to, say an identical badge struck in, say 1921? (assuming the regiment was still operational)

3) Did pals brigades have their own cap badges?

4) Within a regiment, would there be variations on the cap badges of the battalions?

Thank you in advance to anyone who will share there time and knowledge to answering any of these questions.

Ubervamp
Old 16-02-13, 02:03 PM
Former Member

Ubervamp,
welcome to the Forum, I will try an answer some of your questions as best I can;