British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Airborne, Elite and Special Forces Insignia

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 31-07-18, 05:31 PM

Default SAS Wings

There is a collector that claims two of these wings belonged to Robert Blair "Paddy" Mayne and that they are of WWII origin. I have no knowledge of these kind of insignia, but I find his story a little fishy. Can any of you share your knowledge around these?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 38023158_10155680893301186_1796550155235753984_n.jpg (35.7 KB, 107 views)
Old 31-07-18, 05:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorBn View Post
There is a collector that claims two of these wings belonged to Robert Blair "Paddy" Mayne and that they are of WWII origin. I have no knowledge of these kind of insignia, but I find his story a little fishy. Can any of you share your knowledge around these?
All look pretty modern to me and would imagine the smaller sized ones are for wear on mess kit and the larger size for wear on Number 1 dress blues. Neither Mess Kit nor Number 1 dress were worn during WW2 so the chances of these being WW2 vintage are (IMO) very remote. I'm sure more knowledgeable collectors than I will offer their opinions

PL
Old 31-07-18, 06:06 PM

Thank you, he claims these came out of the British War Museum and that they were sold by a mistake after they had been removed from uniform for cleaning. It sounds like one of those stories that is just to good to be true.
Old 31-07-18, 07:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NorBn View Post