British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > Common Forums > It's a Mystery -Unknown Insignia for Identification

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 31-12-16, 05:42 PM

Default Photo of Grandfather or Great Grandfathers Unit

Happy New Year!
I am new to Canadian Insignia. There is a lot of information out there, but I am not sure I m understanding all of the changes to uniforms and insigina as they relate to periods of time and wars.
I am doing family research and have been given a picture that no one knows when or with what service it depicts. Supposedly the regiment/squadron that my grandfather, maybe GGF, belonged to, but I see there are three different insignia in the grouping- which is interesting with the gentleman in the middle that is holding the hands of the other two 'regiments/squadrons'. I am not sure what branch they represent or if it is WWI or WWII (which was what my father believes). I see differences in pockets, insignia- maybe carryovers between wars. I believe they maybe Machine Gun units- three different countries maybe from the cap badges.

If anyone can shed some light on these questions and maybe the event that created this picture would be welcome-

Thank you for any light you can shed on this incredible picture, It has really opened up a lot of interesting history for me,
P
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Charles Gadd WWII Pic of Friend Couseneau.jpg (70.0 KB, 99 views)
Old 31-12-16, 06:48 PM

They look like Machine Gun Corps to me.
David
Old 31-12-16, 08:20 PM

Default Photo

Thank you David!

Can you tell me if it is WWI or WWII? All Canadian? Or is it too hard to tell from the photo?
Old 31-12-16, 09:08 PM