British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Royal Flying Corps and Royal Air Force

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 18-02-20, 12:51 PM

Default RAF-DUTCH ATTACHED

I have this patch thinking it maybe RAF-Dutch attached personnel. It came along with other RAF items I brought so......
Can our RAF buffs confirm this or is it Army??

Jerry
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RAF.jpg (64.2 KB, 33 views)

JERRY
ROYAL ENGINEERS/BRITISH ARMY CORPS & SERVICES/BRITISH LEGION/ROYAL BRITISH LEGION (see albums)
Old 18-02-20, 01:07 PM

Default Netherlands patch

Hi Jerry,

I am no expert in this field but I believe that those with yellow thread ones are Army related. (Only from what I have seen for sale).

Attached is a patch I acquired some time back. It has the classic RAF colours. May be of WWII period and associated with the RAF but I have seen nothing to confirm this.

Graham
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Nederland Lion Patch - Front.jpg (79.8 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg Nederland Lion patch - Rear.jpg (90.2 KB, 9 views)
Old 18-02-20, 01:13 PM

Found this from a book ; Je Maintiendrai. A concise history of the Dutch army 1568-1940.

"The words Je Maintiendrai, once the heraldic motto of William of Orange, now form part of the shoulder patch of the uniform of every soldier of the Royal Netherlands Army. "

Poppy and British Legion Wanted
Old 18-02-20, 02:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by wasaraftype View Post

Attached is a patch I acquired some time back. It has the classic RAF colours. May be of WWII period and associated with the RAF but I have seen nothing to confirm this.

Graham