British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > Australian Military Insignia > The Australian General Service Badge (Rising Sun)

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 12-09-14, 09:51 AM

Default Importing Bayonets into Australia

Occasionally we see Australian Bayonets on eBay and other sites and I have been wondering how easy or difficult it is to import these weapons into Australia. Anyone have any personal experience in this matter I would be grateful to hear from you. Thank you
Old 12-09-14, 01:19 PM
Major Dundee

Hi Lionheart
I have had no experience in this matter but there is a TV programme on Sky TV in England which is about the Australian Customs Service. (They are very thorough)
Everything goes through scanners sent from other countries and from watching it it will show the shape of a weapon of some sort, and then there's the customs sticker which would have the description of what was in the package which would have to match the item.
My advice would be to check with your Customs Office or maybe you local Post Office to see what the policy is on the transportation of weapons to Australia.
Sorry can't be of more help
Good luck
Paul.
Old 12-09-14, 02:35 PM

I once tried to find out from Canada Customs about the possibility of bringing my grandad's old kukri into Canada. It was unclear whether it did or did not constitute a "prohibited weapon". It also didn't help that whoever I spoke to didn't know what a kukri was, and didn't seem any the wiser when I tried to explain. And I'm sure that wasn't my doing! The upshot is, it's still in the UK.

David
Old 12-09-14, 03:48 PM

G’day Lionheart