British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Infantry (& Guards) Badges

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 08-10-11, 09:20 PM

Default Royal Dublin Fusiliers insignia

Hi all,

I am newbie here and very green when it comes to the badges, so any help and info would be great!

I am collecting awards and different items from Royal Dublin Fusiliers. Last few months I have obtained some of the insignia and I would like to learn more about them. First at all; are they original period pieces, who worn them and what period, etc.

Lets start:

1. Like I understand it is shoulder title (missing "exploding grenade") what was used by enlisted men. Maybe someone can advise when this type of insignia was in use?

Old 09-10-11, 07:56 AM

Hi, I believe this title was in use from 1903 and had a separate grenade. I think a new title with DF with a grenade between the letters came about in 1910. I don't know if your title continued to be used, but I am sure someone will be along with a bit more knowledge
Andy
Old 09-10-11, 11:12 AM

The title was worn with the "Universal Grenade" by all fusilier regiments from about 1880 depending on dress (the Grenadier Guards, Royal Artillery and Royal Engineers also used the grenade - hence "universal") until before and during WW1, when several of the regiments adopted a more regimental variant of grenade and title in one piece. This latter practice included the RDF.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg images.jpg (6.2 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg user133_pic15759_1262530906.jpg (73.3 KB, 14 views)

Last edited by Toby Purcell; 09-10-11 at 12:14 PM.
Old 09-10-11, 12:33 PM