British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Airborne, Elite and Special Forces Insignia

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 06-04-10, 11:21 AM

Default SAS TROOPER

hi all,

just seen this on our fav site http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...m=350335755899 and wondered what your views are.

im no expert on sf but i thought a trooper returned to parent unit after duty with sas,why 4 regts then?

philip
Old 07-04-10, 07:22 PM

Philip, the seller George has a limitless supply of SF insignia (especially SAS cap badges) and headgear. Apparently he is a tailor which would explain a lot. Most SAS experts that I have spoken to believe his cap badges are replicas.
The beret he is selling is of post-war manufacture:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/WORLD-WAR-2-S-...mZ350335751296
If the date letter is R, it means the beret was made either in 1947 or 1948. If it's a B the beret is from 1950 or 1951.
Also when you look at his commando beret you will see a double stitch line on the leather sweatband. I have never seen this on a kangol made beret or from any other manufacturer for that matter and I strongly suspect it is a genuine wartime liner that was put in a post-war beret.
Old 07-04-10, 07:55 PM

Luc, zoom in on the beret you posted there and you can see the stitching outline of the old badge...

Tom
Old 07-04-10, 09:09 PM

Tom, you are correct. That is another problem that is overlooked in the item description.
Old 07-04-10, 09:19 PM

hi guys,

have you noticed anything about the item i put up and the one luc put up.both items are named to arthur smith and 4 regts.wonder what he would say if i asked him why.

philip