British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > General Topics.

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 31-03-20, 03:51 AM

Default Essex Buttons

Hello Troops
I have been collecting for the last 30 years mainly to the Essex Regt, then on to all the Regiments that make up the Royal Anglian Regt. O.T.Cs, shoulders, collars, A/A and Yeomanry and a few buttons. I have started to collect the Essex Regt buttons. What I find interesting about buttons is a prolific amount of different manufactures. Can anybody tell me the difference between an Officers and other ranks buttons? I realise it could be Gilt or G/M but I do not want to clean the patina off to find out. Some dealers advertise Officers buttons but they all look the same. Just a hint, I use bobby pins to secure my badges etc onto card. They come in different lengths, The long ones are great for Helmet plates, medium ones for badges, shoulder titles and the small ones for buttons etc. They come in mixed packs or separate packs. They are easy to remove and replace.
Regards Terry
Old 31-03-20, 05:31 AM

I thought that gilt was gold plating. Gold does not get a ‘patina’, brass does, silver does. Gold plate can be corroded off a base metal button if buried for years in the event ground chemicals or fertilizer gets into a scratch or cut on the button. DJ.
Old 31-03-20, 06:13 AM

Hi terry, I have always thought if the shank is fixed, it’s an officers. Other ranks if not.
Old 31-03-20, 07:25 AM

Its a complex subject.

There are lots of fixed shank other ranks buttons, but I don't recall seeing a drop shank button in Officers quality?