British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Reproductions, Restrikes, Fakes, Forgeries, and Copies (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Imperial Service Badge (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49233)

Shiny 29-10-15 06:14 PM

Imperial Service Badge

1 Attachment(s)
Hi all,

I'm looking for some opinions on this imperial service badge.

To me the letters don't look very sharp so I'm wondering if that means this is a fake.

I'm very new to all this so looking for some opinions please.

Thanks

Michael

Peter Brydon 29-10-15 06:24 PM

Michael,

They were die cast so that might explain why the letters are not sharp but a picture of the back of the badge would help Forum members to give you their opinions.

P.B.

2747andy 29-10-15 06:24 PM

Michael,
from what you show it looks fine to me, there are several variations, some better than others!

Andy

manchesters 29-10-15 06:44 PM

Its fine. An original badge

regards

Shiny 29-10-15 06:48 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks everyone, I'll add a picture of the back but it sounds like I'm ok.

Thanks again,

Michael

wardog 29-10-15 08:09 PM

Best to link to the original ebay page Shiny- as the pictures belong to the seller. Regards, Paul.
http://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forum_rules.htm

davidwyke 09-12-15 02:40 PM

Brass version of IS badge??

Hi Chaps

Even after over a century these Imperial Service badges are still quite common, I have a few examples in my collection.

However, when glancing through "Medal Yearbook" I was surprised to see that it states they were produced in "Cupro-nickel or brass".

I've seen many examples but only in white metal, never seen a brass example. Has anyone got/seen a brass version?

I think the book may have got it wrong but if they were awarded in both metals, who were the brass badges awarded to?