British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Royal Flying Corps and Royal Air Force (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   WW2 RAF Pilots Wings (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77004)

Shiny 27-01-20 12:25 PM

WW2 RAF Pilots Wings

Hi All,

I'm looking for a bit of advice.

I'm thinking about making a display for a relative who was a Hurricane pilot during WW2. I had thought about including a set of pilots wings - until I saw the prices.

So far I have seen them range from £10 to £200 and it has got me all confused.

How much should a real set of wings go for and are there any tips for spotting them, I have very little experience in buying cloth badges of any type so would really appreciate some help.

Is there any difference in ones worn during WW2 and post war ones (up until the Queen's Crown was put on obviously).

Thanks a lot,

Michael

Frank Kelley 27-01-20 02:00 PM

Ten quid would certainly be a bargain, but two hundred?
Who charges that?
I would have thought maybe around the fifty pounds mark these days would buy a good period badge.
Lots of them were made during the war and many would have been available afterwards from stock, both tailors for purchase and government for issue.
They do vary in terms of manufacturer and style from pre war and into the war, but, I'd just go to your nearest fair and start handling them perhaps before just buying a ten quid example on ebay, as you would doubtless end up being disappointed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shiny (Post 498501)
Hi All,

I'm looking for a bit of advice.

I'm thinking about making a display for a relative who was a Hurricane pilot during WW2. I had thought about including a set of pilots wings - until I saw the prices.

So far I have seen them range from £10 to £200 and it has got me all confused.