British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Photographs of British Servicemen and Women Wearing Insignia (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   6" Howitzer (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77982)

rmarsden 28-03-20 09:54 AM

6" Howitzer

1 Attachment(s)
Note the tank on the skyline.

magpie 28-03-20 10:02 AM

I think it's a farmhouse over the ridge.

bess55 28-03-20 04:31 PM

Always concerning when the gun crew has to have gas masks ready. Counter battery fire has a long reach . . . The dial site is a thing of beauty - I wonder what happened to it?

cbuehler 29-03-20 03:39 PM

They look like well fed sturdy lads! When and where was this photo taken?

CB

Hoot 29-03-20 04:28 PM

There appears to be a few graves there by the look of it.

bess55 29-03-20 09:06 PM

I'm no expert on these matters, but it looks like they are wearing the SBR (small box respirator) haversack, which was introduced in 1916. Weather appears warm ( at least one of the crew has tanned lower arms), therefore spring/ summer 1916 onwards?

rmarsden 30-03-20 08:21 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Here is another view.

Hawthorn 30-03-20 09:21 AM

Surely from the configuration of the gun emplacement, the casual dress of the gun team and the general feel of the image I would say that this was taken on a Range or at some training establishment. In the first photograph the buildings and vehicle (if that is what it is) could well be Range huts or similar and although I'm not an Artillery expert (hopefully an ex Gunner can confirm) I would expect the spades on the carriage to have dug into the earth if this weapon had been fired recently.

Simon.

mike_vee 30-03-20 09:42 AM

That was my first impression as well , the "graves" in front of the howitzer looks more like a disused bunker/emplacement .