British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Airborne, Elite and Special Forces Insignia (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   eBay Para Regt badge KC opinions please (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=80893)

marinus 21-09-20 07:17 PM

eBay Para Regt badge KC opinions please

3 Attachment(s)
Good evening,

Can I have your opinions on this Parachute Regiment badge, please?
Are my old eyes misleading me or is the lion looking backwards?

Marinus

Attachment 231028 Attachment 231029Attachment 231030

Home Guard 21-09-20 08:57 PM

Sure looks like it to me. But I am no expert on British Para badges.

Terry

Arnhem Jim 21-09-20 09:16 PM

eBay Para Regt badge KC opinions please

Hello Marinus,
Para badge looks dubious from what I can see.You may want to glance at the following article from my blog for further confirmation; http://arnhemjim.blogspot.com/2011/0...cap-badge.html
Regards,
Arnhem Jim
Arizona Territory

altcar73 21-09-20 09:17 PM

I'm no expert but it looks like a poorly made repro. to me.

Dave.

Luke H 21-09-20 09:27 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Repro! Found with modern footed loops (as yours) and with fake Marples & Beasley brass sliders.

Read this thread - https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/fo...hlight=Marples

Note the lion is falling off the crown from the back, die flaws highlighted and how the cords cross over etc. etc.

Frank Kelley 22-09-20 06:44 AM

Awful, a glance the crown speaks volumes, if you have bought that send it back and advise the seller you wanted a real one!:eek:

Quote:

Originally Posted by marinus (Post 523378)
Good evening,

Can I have your opinions on this Parachute Regiment badge, please?
Are my old eyes misleading me or is the lion looking backwards?

Marinus

Attachment 231028 Attachment 231029Attachment 231030

marinus 22-09-20 03:27 PM

eBay Para Regt badge KC opinions