British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Royal Navy and Royal Marines (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   RND cap badges (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18570)

whizzbang 02-03-08 10:24 AM

I have 2 RND badges. I would be interested to hear the forum's comments. I believe they are the real thing but neither is maker marked.

There must have been a number of makers - many Canadian CEF (WW1) badges have several makers and can be found in several different metals, different lugs and even different patterns.

Cheers, Ian.

TRT 02-05-08 09:08 AM

Any experts going to comment? Is it accepted that every RND badge should have a Gaunt plate?

Regards

TRT

Alan O 02-05-08 09:14 AM

I am not an expert on RND but I am afraid that opinions on these are difficult as they have been almost professionally faked. I once had a voided Howe badge with a Gaunt plate that was an exceptional copy.

I can see nothing wrong with these by the way.

Alan

TRT 02-05-08 09:39 AM

I have a Nelson badge with the loops north / south as opposed to east/west. No Gaunt plate and different lines on sails to the one in this thread. The stress marks on the sails are on either side indicating how the wind is billowing the sails. Will try and post image soon.

Any initial comments though?

Thanks

TRT

Alan O 02-05-08 09:43 AM

I have an identical badge - it has the cut out flag and the straight 'N' of Nelson as well. It is not a Gaunt badge and is either a different maker or a very old fake.

Alan

dragonz18 02-05-08 09:53 AM

Hi,
TRT,I would say that there was more than 1 (Gaunt) maker of RND badges.Though Gaunt's seem to be the major supplier with these.
Without provenence it is getting hard to say now which other variants are OK.