British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Anodised Aluminium Badges (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   British anodised badges: help needed (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40623)

Wmr-RHB 18-07-14 10:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike_2817 (Post 270340)
Ditto here and file shows as

http://www.smle.army-cap-badges.talk...files/0001.jpg

without the extra .\ you show

Yes, as I said above (not calling IE by name) certain browsers seem to rectify the errors. That includes changeing the \ into / and removing he superfluous .\

And then it of course shows to you in it's rectified form the address bar of IE. But in the page it is still wrong, look at the source (if IE allows you to do that, I don't have it).

Mike_2817 18-07-14 11:15 AM

Here you go, fill your boots -

<tr>
<td align="center" SPACER TYPE="block" HEIGHT="155" bordercolor="#000000">
<p align="center"><img src=".\Anodised Cavalry_files\0001.jpg" width="97" Height="155" BORDER="2"></p>
</td>
<td align="center" SPACER TYPE="block" HEIGHT="155" bordercolor="#000000">
<p align="center"><img src=".\Anodised Cavalry_files\0002.jpg" width="100" Height="155" BORDER="2"></p>
</td>

As you say, seems to be optimised for IE and not tested on other browsers!

Wmr-RHB 18-07-14 12:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mike_2817 (Post 270345)
Here you go, fill your boots -
HTML Code:

<tr>
  <td align="center" SPACER TYPE="block" HEIGHT="155" bordercolor="#000000">
  <p align="center"><img src=".\Anodised Cavalry_files\0001.jpg" width="97" Height="155" BORDER="2"></p>
  </td>
  <td align="center" SPACER TYPE="block" HEIGHT="155" bordercolor="#000000">
    <p align="center"><img src=".\Anodised Cavalry_files\0002.jpg" width="100" Height="155" BORDER="2"></p>
  </td>

As you say, seems to be optimised for IE and not tested on other browsers!

I wouldn't call that "optimised". IE has to do extra work in translating these URLs.

Mike_2817 18-07-14 03:07 PM

OK, the word I should have used was 'Tested' on IE

Derrick 19-07-14 12:24 PM

web pages updated
 
:D
opps.

hi , lust got pluged about the thread,

i have updated all the web pager to include the '%20' in the folder name for the pictures.

hope the pages look ok now....


ps: "As you say, seems to be optimised for IE and not tested on other browsers! "

I did try it on an ipad and andriod tablet and all seemed to work ok, my error for not checking the folder name. lol

Wmr-RHB 19-07-14 12:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Derrick (Post 270442)
:D
opps.

hi , lust got pluged about the thread,

i have updated all the web pager to include the '%20' in the folder name for the pictures.

hope the pages look ok now....

No it doesn't.

Nobody in fact complaned about the space to be replaced by the %20.
The complaint was about the URLs containing the MS-DOS/Windows way of specifying a path (using \) instead of doing it correctly (using /).

Derrick 19-07-14 01:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wmr-RHB (Post 270443)
No it doesn't.

Nobody in fact complaned about the space to be replaced by the %20.
The complaint was about the URLs containing the MS-DOS/Windows way of specifying a path (using \) instead of doing it correctly (using /).


as you mention the error is in the html code and i have used the "MS-DOS/Windows way of specifying a path (using \) instead of doing it correctly (using /). ".

the code for the web pages were created automatically and I forgot to include the code to change a DOS path to URL path.


amendments to the web pages will be done as soon as i can do them.

Many thanks.

Wmr-RHB 19-07-14 01:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Derrick (Post 270451)
as you mention the error is in the html code and i have used the "MS-DOS/Windows way of specifying a path (using \) instead of doing it correctly (using /). ".

the code for the web pages were created automatically and I forgot to include the code to change a DOS path to URL path.


amendments to the web pages will be done as soon as i can do them.

Many thanks.

Many thanks to you.

It is realy a surprise to have the web-master being a member here. That makes talking a lot easier.

I ventured my critisism about the wrong coding here a bit strongly, never assuming that the code "owner" was tuning in. It was of course also a bit off topic here, but seeing that other members were having problems, I tried to explain to them that it wasn't their fault and that they also could not repair much in their own systems.

The second reason I posted is because I have some strong feelings about web sites being coded in a way that only MicroSoft customers can use them. These are all recognised standards and when coders on tthe server side and browsers on the client site do obey them, it just should work. Alone the saying "optimised for MicroSoft IE version such and such" makes me very badly tempered.

Looking forward to your pages being recoded and thus becoming available to those who do not use MS (for security reasons or financial resaons or other reason).

Derrick 19-07-14 02:20 PM

Hi Henk ,
That's ok , you got to let off steam sometimes.

Quote : 'It is realy a surprise to have the web-master being a member here. '

web-master might not be the right title. (..)

I was testing the web pages on the (Windows) pc's desktop and they worked ok,

In getting carried away with the project I put the pages on the web and they worked ok,

I viewed the pages using IPad 3 and a Samsung tab3 android and still ok.

I didn't want to install Firefox (tut tut) so that's another cop out on my behalf.

Not Having received any comments about problems with the web pages I assumed they were ok.

once again, thanks for your comments.

Ps : updated Anodised_Territorial , could you let me know if its ok now? thanks

Wmr-RHB 19-07-14 02:34 PM

Hallo Derrick,

Yes!! Anodised Territorial is fine now. Thanks a lot.

It is a nice set of pictures!

Wmr-RHB 19-07-14 02:38 PM

Hallo again,

I have a remark of a complete different kind. Look at the 5th Bn Seaforth Highlanders. The badge is missing there and from that point on the captions and badges are not synchronised any more.

Derrick 19-07-14 02:39 PM

wicked, ill edit my program to fix the error.

thanks again.:D:D:D

Derrick 19-07-14 02:41 PM

you must kave looked at the page before i finished uploading the pictures...

Wmr-RHB 19-07-14 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Derrick (Post 270468)
you must kave looked at the page before i finished uploading the pictures...

You are right, it is correct now.
But you invited me to check, which I did of course asap :D

Derrick 20-07-14 03:49 PM

All web pages have been updated.

Thanks Derrick.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.