British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Airborne, Elite and Special Forces Insignia (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Comments please of ebay listing of 1st SAS and para wing (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73176)

zorgon 09-04-19 06:57 PM

Comments please of ebay listing of 1st SAS and para wing

A very nice looking lot just sold on eBay consisting of a pair of 1st. SAS titles and an older Para wing style for $936 US. As a newbie, I'm still trying to figure out what is legitimate and what to look for on these pieces. I wasn't sure about the black, vacuum backing over the course white cheesecloth backing but the fronts of the SAS titles certainly look good. Lots of bidders. Were these pieces good? Any hints on what to look for in the future? Any examples of the backs of other 1st or 2nd SAS titles that one can expect to see? Thanks in advance for ensuing discussion.

manchesters 09-04-19 07:48 PM

Thanks in advance for ensuing discussion.

Not going to be much of that without a link or photos?

regards

zorgon 09-04-19 07:55 PM

I assumed folks would follow this sort of thing but good idea Simon, here's the link and eBay item number:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Original-WW...orig_cvip=true

eBay item number: 264271895299

Not sure about image copyright so best to go to the source.

manchesters 09-04-19 08:02 PM

look original to me.

regards

Paul Spellman 09-04-19 09:01 PM

The SAS Titles are definitely fake.
Paul

crest-insignia 09-04-19 09:13 PM

7 - 21 days delivery!
Seller obviously doesn’t like to be hurried.

Paul Spellman 09-04-19 09:14 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Titles were sold on eBay a while back.
The shiny new white cheesecloth the biggest giveaway.I have handled similar (or probably the same pair) about two years ago and others who know better than me confirmed they were fake.

Paul