British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Airborne, Elite and Special Forces Insignia (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   SAAS Brevet Age (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=79373)

Timmy 23-06-20 03:22 AM

SAS Brevet Age

2 Attachment(s)
OK guys sorry to be adding to the ever growing list of 'what do you think' threads but im a bit stumped. I have limited experience with these wings and am still learning but am purchasing a pair of wings off a friend (also a well respected student of militaria). He is selling them as WW2 so come with a hefty price tag but i today had a friend tell me they are 1960's era. im in a bit of a bind so would much appreciate your help here.

thanks in advance !

castagain 23-06-20 03:50 AM

Timmy,

There are other SAS experts on the Forum who no doubt can tell you much more about this particular wing than I can, but I thought you might want some information right away.

This style of SAS wing, sometimes called the “moth” wing because of its distinctive shape, is typically associated with the Malaya campaigns of the late 1940s to early 1950s, although there are some collectors who say the wing was in use earlier, at the end of WW2.

If you can wait to conclude the deal until the Forum’s SAS collectors weigh in, then they can give you expert advice about the wing’s era, authenticity, and market value. Best of luck!

Stay well,
Donovan

3battalion 23-06-20 04:16 AM

As Donovan mentioned, I believe it's a 50-60's era wing because there's photographic evidence of it being worn in this era but not in WW2.

What is the asking price on the wing?

Paul

Timmy 23-06-20 04:56 AM

thanks Donovan, seems pretty much what i was told today.....

Timmy 23-06-20 05:16 AM

1 Attachment(s)