British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   New Zealand Badges (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   out of Africa (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5128)

DavidS 05-02-09 12:17 AM

out of Africa

CPMil has now posted 20-25 WWI New Zealand badges and some African stuff on eBay. One item is this one, you can pull seller's other items for the remainder. No idea what constitutes good vs bad/rare vs common NZ things, so I'd be interested in opinions.

Bill A 05-02-09 12:58 AM

Some very rare badges in the listings. Like you Dave, I have little knowledge about the ins and outs of NZ badges, but some of these are very rare.
Note the bids on the Shanghai Armoured Car badges.
Does anyone know the original collector?
And a bit of a pet peeve. Why do many dealers keep the name of the original collector anonymous? If I knew it was so an so's collection I would be reassured of the provenance. Why not make it public?

DavidS 05-02-09 02:31 AM

WTH, I wrote and asked him.

DavidS 05-02-09 08:04 PM

According to CPMil, they did not post the collector's name in their listings out of consideration for the family, as he passed away very recently. However, they did say they would (and did for me) provide the name if asked.

saumua 08-02-09 09:50 AM

All the NZ stuff is good. the one that you have illustrated is not a rare badge and sell for NZ$25 - $30.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DavidS (Post 31843)
CPMil has now posted 20-25 WWI New Zealand badges and some African stuff on eBay. One item is this one, you can pull seller's other items for the remainder. No idea what constitutes good vs bad/rare vs common NZ things, so I'd be interested in opinions.

pukman 08-02-09 06:05 PM