British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Airborne, Elite and Special Forces Insignia (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Para wings, incredible selling price (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=79782)

Luc 15-07-20 01:01 PM

Para wings, incredible selling price

2 Attachment(s)
These lovely wings just sold for £1,220.00. :eek:

3battalion 15-07-20 02:27 PM

A lot of suspicious bidding from one bidder but whoever one this wing certainly paid top dollar.

Paul

Mike B 15-07-20 02:29 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here are mine Luc - Attributed to Force 133 veteran.
I was a little unsure of the ones you provide an image of - construction of chute etc - but I am no expert - just prefer attributed if spending that sort of money.

irish 15-07-20 05:20 PM

I have a version of the same wing. Belonging to an OSS veteran who was part of the Special Bari Section Italy. Posted that example several years back.

This style of wing is seen worn in a famous photo of the SOE agent Krystyna Skarbek / Christine Granville. The photo is noted to have been taken at the end of the war.

In a book about Christine Granville recently finished it notes that she had attended jump school training in Haifa (SOE) as well in Algeria. She had also spent time in Cairo and Southern France ..I believe it is still an unknown as to where these wings were made.?? Is this still the case?

The link to the thread unfortunately has photobucket banners over the photos. But still legible

https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/fo...ad.php?t=68926

mike_vee 15-07-20 06:04 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by irish (Post 516312)
This style of wing is seen worn in a famous photo of the SOE agent Krystyna Skarbek / Christine Granville. The photo is noted to have been taken at the end of the war.

Photo is titled "Algiers 1944".

irish 15-07-20 06:22 PM