British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Royal Navy and Royal Marines (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   VICTORIAN era RN cap, rank ,& rate badges/insignia (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=53732)

RCN 15-05-16 02:05 PM

VICTORIAN era RN cap, rank ,& rate badges/insignia

6 Attachment(s)
Following on from kingsley's recent topic on his Victorian RN Officer's cap badge, I thought it might be interesting to commence a Victorian era topic on badges & insignia of the RN during this interesting period.

These Victorian RN badges/insignia seem to be quite rare in our time. I know I have been collecting RN badges for well on 50 years plus now & I only have a very few Victorian examples in my large badge collection. I consider that I am very fortunate in having the fine examples I do have! I would have thought that when one considers the size of the crews that manned the later Victorian period Ironclad turret & battleships more of their insignia would have survived to this day.

In any event I hope this might bring some more RN Victorian period insignia out of collection drawers!

& I will kick it of with some of those badges I showed in kingsley's topic....

Shown is a VR RN Officer's CIVIL Branch cap badge. RN Civil branch officers consisted of Surgeons, Engineers, Paymasters, & Naval Instructors.
Their Civil branch cap badges differed from the MILITARY branch in that they were all gold embroidery - ie: no silver wire embroidery & a gold metal anchor in the cap badge.

& a photo of a Paymaster wearing the Civil branch cap badge......

RCN Bryan

RCN 15-05-16 02:18 PM

VICTORIAN era RN cap, rank ,& rate badges/insignia

3 Attachment(s)
A MILITARY branch Chief Petty Officer's (CPO) cap badge.