British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > Common Forums > Reproductions, Restrikes, Fakes, Forgeries, and Copies

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 22-04-12, 08:33 AM

Default Newfoundland Regiment

I have been to the local car boot sale this morning and I have either been incredibly lucky or I have bought a dud. What do you think? It is presumably a collar badge.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NFrev.jpg (98.5 KB, 109 views)
File Type: jpg NF1.jpg (86.6 KB, 118 views)
Old 22-04-12, 08:51 AM

Default Size doesn't matter

Hi there,
I've had two in the past, both original but have sold them on (one to Andy on the forum). I'm no expert though, so won't comment on the authenticity but can tell you that the collars and cap badge are exactly the same size, so it could be either.
Regards,
Kevin.
Old 22-04-12, 08:58 AM

Kevin,

thank you for that. I have been doing a bit of googling and mine seems to differ from other Newfoundland badges as there is only one void in the caribou's left antler; having said that the piece of metal that would normally be voided is only held in place by a piece of flashing. On other badges the right antler branch is joined to the central antler as well. However, my badge does seem to have the right dark pickled lustre that other Great War Canadian badges have.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NFvoid.jpg (50.2 KB, 32 views)

Last edited by High Wood; 22-04-12 at 09:06 AM.
Old 22-04-12, 10:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Wood View Post
I have been to the local car boot sale this morning and I have either been incredibly lucky or I have bought a dud. What do you think? It is presumably a collar badge.