British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

Recent Books by Forum Members

Go Back   British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum > British Military Insignia > Formation Signs and Patches

Other Pages: Galleries, Links etc.
Glossary  Books by Forum Members     Canadian Pre 1914    CEF    CEF Badge Inscriptions   Canadian post 1920     Canadian post 1953     British Cavalry Badges     Makers' Marks    Pipers' Badges  Canadian Cloth Titles  Books  SEARCH

Old 21-08-09, 07:56 PM

Default DR / AFV & Para Badges - Your Opinions Please

I have just acquired these badges together with a Paybook. I am no expert on trade badges and would appreciate your opinions.

Les.

Old 21-08-09, 08:20 PM
peter616

The wing is ww2

peter
Old 21-08-09, 08:58 PM
Super Moderator

The DR and AFV patches are unofficial. Edwards and Langley show both, and the AFV one is identified as possibly for Drivers, of light AFV's for glider born tanks. They indicate that very few would qualify for this trade patch.
Old 22-08-09, 06:08 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill A View Post
the AFV one is identified as possibly for Drivers, of light AFV's for glider born tanks. They indicate that very few would qualify for this trade patch.
I definitely concur with the latter Bill, if indeed the description in the book is correct then it's a rare beast I'd say. The tank-carrying 'Hamilcar' glider was produced in far fewer numbers than the more well-known Horsa and not all Hamilcars carried tanks on operations.

Kev C
Old 23-08-09, 07:26 PM

Many thanks Peter, Bill & Kev.

The AB64 states that he joined up 11.9.41 at Halleaths. He was given the service number 10600468 (468 into the block allocated for the Reconnaissance Corps).
He was trained as a Motor Cyclist at No1 Recce Trng Centre - Jan 42.
Passed Regt Driving Test (MC) - 25 Feb 43.
Fired Bren at Hythe - 23 Oct 42 (1st Class shot)
Fired Rifle at Lydden - 25 Feb 43 (2nd Class shot)
Fired TMC (Thompson Machine Carbine) at Lydden - 18 Dec 42