British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum

British & Commonwealth Military Badge Forum (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   Civilian Services: Police, Prison Service, Fire Brigade, Merchant Navy, etc. (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Scarce Police button? (https://www.britishbadgeforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=53886)

Kevin Elliott 22-05-16 08:04 PM

Scarce Police button?

I'm a retired Hampshire Constabulary officer, living on the Isle of Wight, which is the second county covered by the Hampshire Constabulary. I was aware that there was an independent IOW Constabulary pre-WW2.
I was recently rummaging for badges in a local junk shop when I found a lonely button. Very tarnished, it may even have been in the ground at some point. As it was with military badges, I assumed it was a military button but could make out the words "Borough Police" but not the name of the town preceding that.
Took it home for pennies and got to work with soap and a toothbrush.
I was surprised to reveal the name "Ryde Borough Police". Well, living in Ryde and that's where the shop was, I suppose it shouldn't be such a surprise but I had never heard of it before.
After a bit of research I discovered that the first force on the island was set up in 1837 - the Newport Borough Police. The rest of the island was covered by the Hampshire Constabulary with the exception, from 1869, of Ryde, which had its own Borough force. This remained so until 1922, when following the Police Act 1919, the increased pay and pensions meant the borough could no longer afford its own police. I found a photo from that time and it appears that the eleven men in it, including the Chief Constable and two sergeants, was the entire force!
I'm delighted with this find, albeit probably not worth any more than the few pennies it cost me. Given that the force has been gone for nearly 100yrs and the very limited number of officers, it must be on the rare side?